Present for the PTK All-Kansas Awards ceremony were, left to right: CCCC President Dr. Danette Toone; State Representative Vern Swanson; CCCC student honorees, Dylan Hinrichs, Noel Richardson and Leah Hill; State Senator Elaine Bowers; and State Senator Tom Hawk.

Cloud County Community College
Concordia campus, (800) 729-5101
Geary County campus, Junction City, (785) 238-8010

February 20, 2013
Contact: Jenny Acree, 800.729.5101, ext. 376

Four CCCC students named to All-Kansas Academic Team

(CONCORDIA, KS) – Four Cloud County Community College students were named members of the 2013 All-Kansas Academic Team. These students were among the top community college students in Kansas recognized for their academic accomplishments in an award ceremony Feb. 14 at the Ramada Inn Hotel in Topeka.

CCCC, Geary County Campus students selected for this honor were Noel Richardson, Junction City and Cheryl Henderson, Junction City. Leah Hill, Holton, and Dylan Hinrichs, Fairbury, Neb., were selected from the Concordia campus. The students were joined at the award ceremony by their parents, a CCCC Board of Trustee member and College Administration, faculty and staff. Special guests attending the event to honor the four CCCC students were: State Senator Elaine Bowers, Concordia; State Senator Tom Hawk, Manhattan; and State Representative Vern Swanson, Clay Center.

These scholars have been named to the 2013 All-Kansas Academic Team, sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa international honor society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents.

Each of these students was selected by his or her own community college for the statewide academic team, and each also is a nominee for the 2013 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Noel Richardson is a General Studies major and is undecided about where he will transfer after graduating from CCCC. He is a Phi Theta Kappa member and a peer tutor at the Geary County Campus of CCCC. Richardson is also a high school wrestling coach and a YMCA swim instructor.

Cheryl Henderson is an Art major and plans to continue her education but is undecided about where she will go after Cloud. She is involved as Phi Theta Kappa Chapter President and has been the Rotary Student of the Month.

Leah Hill is a Journalism/Mass communication major and will attend the Kansas State University next fall. Her accomplishments include: Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Vice President, Resident Assistant, Peer Tutor, radio show host, Selfless Service Award, Student of the Month, and Fall Homecoming Queen. In her free time, Hill is a church volunteer.

Dylan Hinrichs is an Elementary Education major. He plans to transfer to Kansas State University after Cloud. At CCCC, Hinrichs accomplishments at CCCC include: member of the Phi Theta Kappa chapter, a radio announcer and sports director at the campus radio station, a Presidential scholar, and a student athletic trainer. He has also been a Fairbury Boy’s Basketball coach, Youth Soccer Referee and a Baseball Umpire.