State Representative Elaine Bowers Elected to Kansas STARBASE Board

(from the Plains Guardian - February 2009)

State Representative Elaine Bowers was recently elected to the Kansas STARBASE Foundation Board. The Board assists with dispersing funds for STARBASE programs.
"We are excited to have State Representative Elaine Bowers joining the STARBASE Foundation Board. Her familiarity with the STARBASE program both from her personal experience attending STARBASE academies with her children, as well as many of the elementary schools she represents in her district participating in the Salina STARBASE site are a great asset to our team," said Gary Cushinberry, STABBASE Foundation president.
General elections were held last fall during which Barbara Bunting was elected for another three-year term as the secretary for the Foundation Board.
Generally, one or two positions on the board open each year, and Board members can serve two, two-to-three-year terms for a maximum of six years.
The STARBASE Foundation Board of Directors consists of: Gary Cushinberry, president; Dennis Hansen, vice president; Barbara Bunting, secretary; Frank Garver, Treasurer; and members Dr. Kurt Barnhart, State Representative Elaine Bowers, Marlon Johnston and Alan States.
The Board of Directors is the sole governing body of the Kansas STARBASE 501(c)3 organization. The nonprofit organization manages the STARBASE program o behalf of the state of Kansas and augments the U.S. Department of Defense funds to enhance the youth educational program in Kansas.